The Matrix : What the *beep* is this atrocity?!?!!

What the *beep* is this atrocity?!?!!

Got to say I was a baby when this film was released, and I only got to watch it for the first time a few nights ago. I had really high expectations because of the high IMDb rating and other people's reviews. I forced myself to watch it till the end, although I hated it from the first minute. I am a fan of Keanu Reeves, I am a fan of sci-fi films and I studied modern philosophy for quite a while, both in high-school and at university, so I'm really not outside of the subject and am quite a smart individual. But for the life of me, I can NOT understand what people see in this film!! It's bloody non-sense! The visuals are ridiculous, the story is too confusing to allow the watcher to keep up, the fight scenes are a joke, the overall style is dead gothic and some scenes made me gag! How is this film a classic? Why does this film have 8,7 rating??? Why???? Can anyone explain??

Re: What the *beep* is this atrocity?!?!!

some scenes made me gag!

With a spoon???

He's far too young to get 80's Valley talk reference. Shame, even with the Internet kids are still clueless.

Haha!

"But they knew they f**ed up." James Rolfe as AVGN

It is simply called personal taste. I happen to love this movie and have seen it at least 10 times. But I have only seen about half of the movie E.T. and think that Goodfellas is overrated. I also hear that some people don't like The Shawshank Redemption, which I find baffling. If it's not your thing, that's OK. Take the blue pill and wake up in your own bed.

"Hamburgers, the cornerstone of any nutritious breakfast." - Jules Winnfield.

How exactly is the film confusing? The movie has a relatively simply story, but it incorporates elements from literature, philosophy, and anime to give it a sense of style. Which by the way, isn't exactly what I'd call gothic, aside from the fact that they all wear black.