Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life : Therapy Scenes

Therapy Scenes

That therapist was the worst! I am a therapist myself and there is no way I would sit there for an hour and not ask my patients at least one question to try get them talking. The only thing she said in two sessions with Lorelei and Emily was "our time is up." Really?! Just terrible and I am pretty sure Emily was paying her a pretty penny to sit there and take notes while doing nothing to establish rapport or offer support. Ugh, I can't stand when therapists are presented in a bad light like this.

Re: Therapy Scenes

We only viewed 1 or 2 minutes of each 50-minute session, you don't know what she might have done when we were not allowed to view.

Besides what they chose to show was for demonstrating the difficulty Emily and Lorelai had communicating, not what kind of therapist they were seeing.

Look up the word "pedant."

..*.. TxMike ..*..

But it wouldn't take much to just hint at the therapist being helpful: just two or three scattered lines to show her moving the conversation along or suggesting something constructive. As it is, she looks like a helpless bystander who's totally out of her depth with Lorelai and Emily (when in reality, therapists have to deal with people way more screwed up than Lorelai and Emily).

When you show a professional at work in a TV show, you have to create at least a veneer of professionalism: the doctor has to use his stethoscope or shock paddles, not stand around twiddling his thumbs.

Post deleted

This message has been deleted.

Thank you, Nameless! My point exactly. She looked totally uncomfortable and anxious, as if she did not know how to deal with people who won't talk. I am pretty sure both Emily and Lorelai would have started talking, with just a few probing questions from the therapist. Really she looked like a rookie, although her office surroundings suggested that she made a good living at what she did.