Manchester by the Sea : Terrible, terrible film (no spoilers)

Terrible, terrible film (no spoilers)

The first half hour was nothing, totally unnecessary.
M. Williams was onscreen maybe 8 minutes total, and she was the best one in it.
C. Afleck wasn't good at all but the script made him lifeless.
there was nothing to his character, except a bit of history shown in one of too many flashbacks.
The language was never natural, just foul words used over and over.

Everyone in the theater hated it.

It has no ending, so no spoilers to even give out.
It just stops.

How did anyone even like this. i felt like leaving but kept saying that it must get better, it's just a slow start, slow first half, no it must have a great ending. No.

Re: Terrible, terrible film (no spoilers)

But yet it has a 97% on Rotten Tomatoes and is about to win Best Picture at the Oscars. Maybe you just don't know much about what makes up a decent movie?

Actually, I'm a writer, trained and dedicated. I prefer novels but have written screenplays....and this had not one thing I liked. How did it get past the first desk without rejection? I'm in shock that critics liked this? Are there two different versions of this film? There isn't any character arc! The main event in his life was way in the past. Is this the Fischer King? What?

You say you're a writer yet you think this? Remind me never to see a movie of yours.
Sorry, but you walked into that - and a good writer should anticipate reaction.

Well, guess what? I'm a writer, too, and I found Manchester exceptional and marvelled at its subtle character arc: up, then way down into darkness, followed by slow, agonized steps out of the abyss.
Lee and Patrick fishing at the end, harking back to the fishing for "shahks" at the beginning, rounds out a perilous emotional journey. Lee has come a long way from his moment in the police station.

Lee has come a long way

How? He still can't talk about it.
He can't talk to his ex.