Film History and Meaning : Is Tim Burton an auteur or just a very individualistic director?

Is Tim Burton an auteur or just a very individualistic director?

I'm a film student doing completing research into the auteur theory and the director I am exploring as an auteur is Tim Burton. I want to find out the public's opinion on whether or not they consider Tim Burton to be an auteur or just a very individualistic director with a known sense of style and aesthetics in his films?

I would love to find out people's opinions and it would be very beneficial to my research, thanks!
LOU:)

Re: Is Tim Burton an auteur or just a very individualistic director?

I don't know if I can give you an informed dialogue on movie theory . Tim Burton of course is known for his gothic themed movies which he has pursued his entire life . I consider him a highly proficient director with a very distinctive style . By comparison , Quentin Tarantino is known for neo-noir thrillers , but with both directors , I would say it's a passionate pursuit and personal style of direction . I would consider Wes Anderson's movies to be the more individual auteurship .

Tarantino isn't neo-noir. It's self-referential, over-the-top live-action cartoons. His characters have not the psychological depth required for a noir film, they're basically broad strokes of character spouting out stylistic but vacuous garbage. In a sense, he is the most representative director of his generation and the next.

Now that I think of it I think the same can be said about Wes' films.

Later that day, after tea... I died, suddenly.

Crushing !! I would be very interested in your list of recent neo-noir movies ? I guess I could have also mentioned Guy Ritchie . I await your apocalyptic reply ?

I don't have a list. I hate lists. I can tell you Tarantino isn't doing neo-noir because I can tell night from day.

Let me know your favourite movies and why ? I'm interested ?!

Cat People
The Hottie & the Nottie

and a lot more.